Archive | 16:31

Top 7 Comedians

20 Feb

 

Favorite Quotes

20 Feb
Dawkins at the University of Texas at Austin.

Image via Wikipedia

“Faith is the great cop-out, the great excuse to evade the need to think and evaluate evidence. Faith is belief in spite of, even perhaps because of, the lack of evidence.” – Richard Dawkins

Fundamentalism means never having to say ‘I’m wrong’.” – unknown

“Man has created God in his own image.” – unknown

“Lighthouses are more helpful than churches.” – Benjamin Franklin

“Religion is regarded by the common people as true, by the wise as false, and by the rulers as useful.” – Seneca the Younger

“Creationists make it sound like a ‘theory’ is something you dreamt up after being drunk all night.” – Isaac Asimov

“The church says the earth is flat, but I know that it is round, for I have seen the shadow on the moon, and I have more faith in a shadow than in the church.” – Ferdinand Magellan

“The Bible is not my book nor Christianity my profession. I could never give assent to the long, complicated statements of Christian dogma.” – Abraham Lincoln

“We must question the story logic of having an all-knowing all-powerful God, who creates faulty Humans, and then blames them for his own mistakes.” – Gene Roddenberry

“If people are good only because they fear punishment, and hope for a reward, then we are a sorry lot indeed.” – Albert Einstein

2. How you got into one of your fandoms

20 Feb
Azazel (Supernatural)

Image via Wikipedia

Most of the fandoms I’m into, I got into because of tumblr. The reason I discovered tumblr is because of Supernatural, so I suppose I’ll explain how I got into Supernatural, the start of everything. You see I live in Sweden, and one night I was watching this channel, which nobody really watches except old people, and there was an episode of Supernatural on – hook man. I got hooked (no pun intended) immediately. Also, whilst watching I remembered that I had seen this particular episode some time before, that was pretty much the reason I needed to know more about the show, and BOOM, I’m a Supernatural fan going through every episode that you can get on the internet. The year was 2007 and I were 15.