Archive | 16:39

4. Any WIP of yours

22 Feb

Sessions

It’s hard to explain. Mostly because it doesn’t feel like anything I ever felt before. It feels like a black hole, an absence of hope and happiness… Yes, I believe that’s the best description I can give you.

This is how you’d describe it? If I didn’t know better I’d say it was a depression, the psychiatrist said from behind her glasses.

Believe me, I’ve had depressions before. The kind that made me want to hurt myself just to feel something. The kind that made me want to die, to escape from this gray existence! I said while she scribbled down notes in her little moleskin. The way the pen moved suggested that she was drawing a flower. Figures. And a bad one too. Are you listening? I asked.

Hm? She looked up. Yes of course. You’re telling me that you wanted to die. Ah, the lovely thing that makes us able to recall the last things said even though we weren’t listening.

This is not a depression, definitely not. She looked down into her moleskin and the pen started moving again. You clearly aren’t paying attention, so why don’t we call it here.

No, she said firmly. The look of surrender came across her face and she sighed. Look, you’re a smart man. You understand that I really couldn’t give a shit about your problem, because, as far as I am concerned, you’re having a depression. A bit harsh don’t you think. Did not expect that.

Then why did you accept my case?§

You figure it out.

The money, right? She nodded. Of course, it’s always the money.

: : : : : : : : : : : : : : :

The message tone never lasts long when I call grandpa. Yes? This is Alan Gress.

Hi grandpa, it’s me. I think I need to switch psychiatrist again. Sorry. He loves me. I love him too, and it’s hard to accept his money, and even harder to demand more.

What was wrong with this one? You okay?

Yeah, yeah. She wasn’t interested in listening to me, like really listen.

In it for the money, huh? Jesus, I really thought this would be the one. I’ll fix you another one, I’ll call you later.

Grandpa..

Yeah.

Thank you.

Dan. You know I love you.

…I love you too. I’ll see you later.

I’ll probably never finish this. I never finish stuff. I actually got a bunch of different WIPs on my computer.